h1

My experience with Vista – No 2

July 3, 2007

Vista PC Upgrade(contd)

I had installed Vista on my PC, working around the upgrade issue, and after 2 days of reinstalling programs the system was pretty much set up as I liked. For 3 weeks the system worked without any major problems and the system was performing really well. It rated a 5.1 on the Vista performance meter. Then one day I was about to load to load some new software , Office 2007 in this case, I put in the CD and waited for the setup to start. It didnt kick in so I went into explorer to start the setup manually. However both optical drives were missing. A look in the device manager and both had yellow triangles with ! in them. I played around with cables (both drives lived on the same IDE) but they still didnt show. I did some googling and found a link to a Microsoft KB article that seemed to describe the problem. It involved making some changes to the registry. I did this and rebooted and still nothing. A few hours had passed by this time and I was totally frustrated and decided I had enough so I made the decision to revert the PC back to XP. All went smoothly and the PC is still running perfectly to this day 4 months later.

I suspected originally that I might have had some issues because of the age of hardware. The experience didnt put me off of Vista and I will be updating the Motherboard, Processor, memory and video card in the PC and installing Vista again.

My next post will be about my experiences with my new laptop that came preinstalled with Vista.

Currently listening to Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen

Leave a Reply

