h1

Microsoft XPS file on XP

June 28, 2007

I just tried to use an XPS file I had created earlier it was an interesting experience to say the least. This on Windows XP SP2 fully patched. I double clicked on the file and next think I know firefox (my default browser) has launched and appears to stuck in a loop opening tab after tab until I closed firefox. A quick bit of web surfing find a quick solution to right click and select open with then select IE7. I did this and it works but not exactly the quickest thing to launch. I decided to have a bit more of a look and find a link to the Microsoft XML Paper Specification Essentials Pack which includes a standalone XPS viewer. I installed this and this is a much better experience (quicker and clearer). I hate it when software companies assume your default browser is IE especially when the company is Microsoft. I am also not fond of apps that launch IE when it is not your default browser.

I havent tried it on my Vista laptop yet but from what I have read on the net it should be a much better experience than this was.

Currently Listening to: Hallelujah – Allison Crowe

One comment

  1. Same shit for me 😦



Leave a Reply

